Tel: + 33 (0)4 92 94 76 30
Fax: + 33 (0)4 92 94 86 39


You are here : [ ebsc ] [ board ]    [ Home - Links - Faqs ]

EBSC Board & Structure

The European Board for the Specialty of Cardiology (EBSC) is an independent joint initiative between the European Society of Cardiology (ESC) and the UEMS (Union Européenne des Médecins Spécialisés) Cardiology Section.

The competence and legitimacy of the EBSC are assured by its two parent organisations.

EBSC formulates recommendations to harmonize standards in cardiology and refers to both
the ESC and UEMS Cardiology Section to confirm and support the implementation
of the said recommendations and decisions.

EBSC includes two delegates from UEMS Cardiology Section, two ESC representatives, one AEPC representative and one representative of the Coordination Task Force for Subspecialty Accreditation.

UEMS Cardiology Section is represented by

Heinz Weber, Co- Chairman of EBSC (Austria)

Nick Boon (United Kingdom)

Ali Oto (Turkey)

Jan Peder Amlie (Norway)


The ESC is represented by

Peter Mills, Chairman of EBSC (United Kingdom)

Peter Kearney (Ireland)

Jeroen Bax (Netherlands)

Carlo Di Mario (United Kingdom)

AEPC is represented by

Andras Szatmari, President of AEPC (Hungary)
Jose Lopez Sendon, Chairman of EBSC Sub-speciality Task Force (Spain)

Permanent Working Group of European Junior Doctors (cardiology representative)

Mitja Lainscak (Slovenia)

Ex Officio Members

Peter Polak, EBAC Chairman, ex officio

Otto Smiseth, ESC Education Committee Chairman, ex officio

Heikki Huikuri, UEMS-CS President, ex officio

Fausto Pinto, ESC CPC Chairman, ex officio


The EBSC Administrator is Ms Céline Carrera ( in charge of managing the coordination and the development of EBSC activities.

EBSC offices are located in Sophia Antipolis - France:

EBSC Office
European Heart House
2035 route des Colles – Les Templiers BP 179
06903 Sophia Antipolis Cedex

 Top of page







Your comments or suggestions are welcome